Winter 2019

Regular price $8.95 Sale

On the Cover: “Buffy Sainte-Marie's Illuminations: an artist revisits her groundbreaking electronic album” by Jesse Locke
Features: “New Experimentalists Explore Historic Instruments: Pierre-Yves Martel, Jennifer Thiessen, and Wesley Shen” by Sara Constant
“Julia Kent: a cellist-composer embraces chance” by Michael Rancic
“Tim Olive” by Joe Strutt
“sound shape: Tosca Terán's fungus music” by Greg J. Smith
Sound Bites“Sonic Geography” by Bea Labikova
“Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi” by Andrea Warner
“Editor’s Note: -” by Jennie Punter

Reviews of music from: Music from Fraser, Davis, Malaby / heArt Ensemble / Kathryn Ladano / Land of Kush / NakedEye Ensemble / James O'Callaghan & Ensemble Paramirabo / Oiseaux-Tempête / Aki Onda + Paul Clipson / Plumes / Pursuit Grooves / Tomeka Reid Quartet / Silla and Rise
Label profile: “Hasana Editions” by Nick Storring
Reviewed: First annual Toronto Biennial of Art. Toronto, Ontario / Fourth Calgary New Music Festival

Musicworks 135 CD
1 Poppies (1969) 3:27 Composed and performed by Buffy Sainte-Marie. From Buffy Sainte-Marie's album Illuminations (Vanguard Records, 1969). 
2 The Dye Market (2019) 8:16 Composed by Phaeolus schweinitzii, a fungus. Performed by Nanotopia (Tosca Terán and Andrei Gravelle). The biodata of Phaeolus schweinitzii (common name: the Dye Maker’s polypore) was recorded during a Fall foray with the Mycological Society of Toronto at Dufferin Forest, Mansfield, Ontario, 2019. MIDI translation made in Toronto at co:Lab/nanopod studio (Midnight Mushroom Music, Tosca Terán, 2019).
3 Crepusculo (2019) 4:29 Composed and performed by Julia Kent. From Julia Kent's album Temporal (The Leaf Label, BAY 106CD, 2019).
4 Boro, excerpt (2019) 6:20 Composed and performed by Doreen Girard (prepared tsymbaly) and Tim Olive (magnetic pickups). From Girard and Olive's album Boro (845 Audio, 845-12, 2019)
5 The New Attractive, track 3 (2015) 4.08 Composed and performed by Takuji Naka (casettes, electronics, self-made instruments) and Tim Olive (magnetic pickups). From Naka and Olive's album The New Attractive (EM Records, EM1139CD, 2015)
6 Estino, excerpt (2016) 10:03 Composed and performed by Pierre-Yves Martel (viola de gamba soprano, harmonica). Excerpt from the album Estinto (2016).
7 L'aurore (2018) 7:01 Composed and performed by Jennifer Thiessen (viola d'amore) and Ida Toninato (baritone saxophone). From the Toninato-Thiessen debut album The Space Between Us (DAME / Ambiances Magnétiques, 2018).
8 toile de jouy (2018) 7:37 Composed by Monica Pearce. Performed by Wesley Shen (harpsichord). Concert performance recorded at Bernard Haitinkzaal, Conservatorium van Amsterdam, Amsterdam, May 29, 2019.
9 The Starts and Stops (2019) 5:44 Composed by Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi. Performed by Mark McGregor (solo piccolo) and Kimia Koochakzadeh-Yazdi (electronics). Recorded at its premiere at the Music and Sound Festival, Spring 2019, at Studio D, Goldcorp Centre for the Arts, Vancouver, B.C.
10 Akshayuk Pass (2019) 2:52 Composed and performed by Bea Labikova (fujara, electronics). Recorded at Labikova's home studio.

Musicworks 135 CD released December 2019.
© all rights reserved