Winter 2020/2021

Regular price $16.00 Sale

On the Cover: “Debby Friday’s Energy Potential” by Brennan McCracken.
Features: “The Sweetness of Drowning: Encounters with the Music of Anna Höstman” by Adam Scime. “Araz Salek, Inquisitive Traditionalist” by Nick Storring. “A Safe Place to Play: The Glittery World of Olivia Shortt” by Chaka V. Grier. “Suddenly Listen is Improvising Upheaval” by Monica Pearce. “Anoush Moazzeni Weaves a New Narrative” by Sara Constant.
Sound Bites: "Friends and First Encounters" editorial by Jennie Punter. “The Genre of Morgan-Paige Melbourne” by Mary Dickie. “Spacing Out: Matthew Cardinal’s Asterisms” by Mercedes Webb. “Trase Pa: Choreographing the Soundworld of David Bontemps’s Traces” by Kevin A. Ormsby with David Bontemps.
Reviews of music from: Olivier Alary & Johannes Malfatti,  Luciane Cardassi, Sarah Davachi, The Eternal Chord, JunctQín Keyboard Collective, Kind Mind, LAL, New Party Systems, J. Pavone String Ensemble, Georgina Isabel Rossi & Silvie Cheng, Marc Sabat and the Harmonic Space Orchestra, Angelica Sanchez & Marilyn Crispell, Saman Shahi, Terry Uyarak, and Nate Wooley.
Label profile: “Telephone Explosion Wants to Reconnect You” by Max Mertens.
ReadsHum: Drone Listening Walks by Kristel Jax and Tasman Richardson, reviewed by Tom Beedham; Every Night of the Week: A D.I.Y. History of Toronto Music 1957–2001 by Jonny Dovercourt, reviewed by Michael Rancic.

Musicworks 138 CD

1. Feb 21st (2019) 4:00 Composed and performed by Matthew Cardinal (electric piano, modular synthesizer, Moog rogue).
2. Marie (2020) 4:05 Composed by Morgan-Paige Melbourne. Performed by Morgan-Paige Melbourne (piano) and Genia Melbourne (violin). From Dear Serenity, released by the artist on Bandcamp on Oct. 9, 2020.
3. Ankh (2017) 5:36 Composed and performed by David Bontemps. From Bontemps’s album Gede Nibo: Variations on a Theme by Ludovic Lamothe.
4. Metamorphosis II (Piano+), excerpt (2018) 4:31 Composed and performed by Anoush Moazzeni. Recorded at La salle George d’Or in Victoriaville, Quebec.
5. The drops of the rain become one with me, excerpt (2019) 2:02 Composed and performed by Anoush Moazzeni. Live performance at the Music Gallery in Toronto, 2019.
6. Excerpt from a Suddenly Listen concert (2017) 6:09 Performed by Susan Alcorn (pedal steel guitar) Norman Adams (cello), and Tim Crofts (piano). Recorded in concert on May 6, 2017, at St. David’s Presbyterian Church, Halifax. Recorded and mixed by John D. S. Adams of Stonehouse Sound.
7. Excerpt from a Suddenly Listen concert (2016) 3:50 Performed by Nicole Rampersaud (trumpet), Andrew Jackson (trombone), Tim Crofts (piano), and Doug Cameron (percussion). Recorded in concert, November 4, 2016 at St. David’s Presbyterian Church, Halifax. Recorded and mixed by John D. S. Adams of Stonehouse Sound.
8. Stay Up (2017) 1:55 Composed and performed by Debby Friday. From the Debby Friday EP Bitchpunk (2018).
9. Moths drink the tears of sleeping birds (2015) 10:31 Composed by Anna Höstman. Peformed by Quatuor Bozzini: Clemens Merkel, Alissa Cheung, violins; Stéphanie Bozzini, viola; Isabelle Bozzini, cello.
10. Pish-daramad and reng, Bayat-e Shiraz (2018) 8:27 Composed by Araz Salek. Performed by Araz Salek (tar) and Pedram Khavarzamini (tombak). Home recording, made in Toronto, mixed by Jonny McKibben.
11. Is this a tomb or am I in love, excerpt (2020) 4:33 Composed by Lieke van der Voort. Performed by Naomi McCarroll-Butler (bass clarinet), Olivia Shortt (baritone saxophone), Lauren Falls (double bass), and Lieke van der Voort (live-trigger Logic Pro X). Recorded at the Burdock, Toronto, Ontario, March 6, 2020, in the Women From Space festival.
12. Gaazhagens, excerpt (2019) 5:39 Composed and performed by Olivia Shortt (voice, soprano and baritone saxophones, loop pedal). Recorded in concert at the Music Gallery on April 14, 2020, as part of the Raven Chacon mini-festival copresented by Arraymusic and the Music Gallery.
13. Overwinter (2019) 5:47 Created and performed by Quartz Ibex: Mira Martin-Gray (electronics, mixing-board feedback and manipulation of Kurt Newman’s guitar), Kurt Newman (electric guitar), and Olivia Shortt (baritone saxophone). From the album Wrist Wasp (Cette Records, 2020). Recorded in concert at Array Space, Toronto, November 7, 2019, by Kelley Mitchell. Mixed and mastered by Mira Martin-Gray.

Musicworks 138 CD released December 2020.
© all rights reserved